WARREN HIGH SCHOOL 1947 BASEBALL TEAM, (Class of 2018)  (Old Time Team)

Warren High’s Baseball Team entered the 1947 season as the 2 time defending state champion. The remarkable thing about this achievement was the fact that there was only 1 state champion during this era. That meant that a small Class C team, like Warren, would potentially have to face a Class A powerhouse, like La Salle, en route to the title. The 1947 team rolled through the spring baseball season, defeating the Bristol Colts and the Barrington Eagles twice each, by a combined score of 48 to 14. They narrowly edged Burrillville for the Class C title. In the state playoff they lost to Class B Woonsocket, defeated Class A La Salle, and downed Class A Woonsocket, before losing the winner-take-all to La Salle. The ironic thing about the loss to La Salle was the fact that La Salle was led by Warren boys Johnny Karcz and Mike “Slick” Carriglia. Both Karcz and Cariglia are Warren Hall of Fame members. The Warren 9 was led by Hall of Fame members Ace Boulanger (All State), Pat Barba (All State), Harpo Tavares (All State), Buzz Barry,  Mendy Mendillo, Coach Charlie Burdge, and Coach Donat Brochu. Other starters were Dizzy Barry, Dykes Doherty, Duck Muccino, Lou Alfano, and Gerry Sampson. Substitutes included Hall of Famers Pat Abbruzzi and Bill Servant plus Charlie Barrett, Ron Bartlett, Jim Henneberry, and manager, Tom Silva. Most noteworthy, was the fact that the 1947 State Baseball Championship game fielded 14 members of the Warren Athletic Hall of Fame.




Picture from Hall of Fame archives